Michael Harding


Michael Harding Performing

Michael Harding was born in 1953 in Cavan, and is an Irish short story writer, newspaper columnist, novelist and playwright. He was a recipient of the Stewart Parker Theatre Bursary in 1990 and the Bank of Ireland/ RTE award for excellence in the Arts in the same year. He won the Hennessey Literary Award for short stories in 1980 and became a member of Aosdana in 2000.

Back to Cavan Authors




Title Year
Priest 1986
The Trouble with Sarah Gullion 1988
Bird in the Snow 2008
Staring at Lakes 2012



Title Year
Strawboys 1987
Una Pooka 1989
Misogynist 1990
Burying Brian Boru 1990
Where the Heart is 1993
Hubert Murray’s Widow 1993
The Kiss 1994
Ceacht Houdini. Amharclann 1994
Backsides to the Wind 1995
Sour Grapes 1997
Amazing Grace 1998
Bog Dances 2000
Sleeping a Lovesong 2002
Talking Through his Hat 2002
Swallow 2003
Birdie Birdie 2004
Tearmann for Siamsa Tire 2006
The Tinkers Curse 2007
Is there Balm in Gilead 2007

Back to Cavan Authors